Surry County Sestercentennial

In 2020 and early 2021, Surry County will celebrate its 250th Anniversary. Since January, the Sestercentennial Committee has been organizing efforts to recognize this significant milestone.

In December 1770, a bill was proposed in the General Assembly of North Carolina to erect a new county from the northern portion of Rowan County. On January 26, 1771, the Assembly approved the creation of Surry County, which at that time encompassed modern day Forsyth, Stokes, Surry, and Yadkin counties, over five years before the birth of our nation.

The committee’s first initiative was recently completed with the selection of a logo recognizing the Sestercentennial. They engaged middle and high school art students from across Surry County to submit concepts for the official logo and received 47 entries. The selected entry was created by Jayla Cropps of East Surry High School. Ms. Cropps’ artwork will be a centerpiece of the Sestercentennial marketing efforts going forward.

The Surry County Board of Commissioners recognized Ms. Cropps for her outstanding contribution to the Sestercentennial during their May 6th meeting.

For information and updates related to the Sestercentennial, please visit or call the County Manager’s office at (336) 401-8201.