Hall of Fame Inductees

HOFThe Surry County Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to preserving the history of sports for Surry County.  Its purpose is to recognize and perpetuate the noteworthy athletic tradition of Surry County by honoring and memorializing individuals, teams, corporations, companies and/or organizations that have made outstanding contributions to this tradition.

The Surry County Sports Hall of Fame operates under the authority of the Surry County Parks and Recreation Department under the consent of the Surry County Board of Commissioners.

Class of 2023 Hall of Fame
Mr. Harry Odell Downs
Mr. Donald C. Harbour
Mr. Stephen M. Holloway
Mr. Richard “Rick” Thomas Hurt
Mr. Anthony Moore
Mr. Zim Zimmerman

Class of 2023 Ring of Honor
1955-1959 Elkin Men’s Tennis Team
Mrs. Leah Tunstall

Daniel White, Director
122 Hamby Road 
Dobson, NC 27017
(336) 401-8235 (O) (336) 401-8236 (F) whiteda@co.surry.nc.us

Office Hours: 8:15 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday-Friday